Voting for Curragh Awards

Voting for Curragh Awards

The 2017 Curragh Racing Awards in association with Tipperary Crystal and Kildare Village will take place on the 17th October and for the first time the event will include two categories to be voted on by the public. The annual event, which has become an important date in the racing calendar since 2011, takes place at the end of each Curragh season and will celebrate notable successes during 2017.

The categories which will be open to public vote include the Leading Training Performance and Leading Riding Performance with five nominees in each category. The nominees are:

Leading Training Performance of 2017
Gordon Elliott for Group 2 winner and twice Group 1 runner up Beckford
Aidan O’Brien for winning 4 out of the 5 Irish Classics
Joe Murphy for three time Curragh winner Silverkode and Stakes winner Only Mine
Denis Hogan for two time Curragh Premier Handicap winner Tithonus
John Gosden for Enable winner of the Darley Irish Oaks

Leading Riding Performance of 2017
Seamie Heffernan for Capri in Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby
Kevin Manning for Clongowes in Silken Thomas & Locke 13 Handicap
Donnacha O’Brien for Happily in Moyglare Stud Stakes
Pat Smullen for Shamreen in Moyglare ‘Jewels’ Blandford Stakes
Chris Hayes for My Silver Nails in Paddy Power Onside App Nursery

Voting closes on the 13th October 2017 and the Award winners will be announced on the night. Anyone who places a vote will be in with the chance to win two places to attend the Awards night.

The other Awards to be presented at the event will be the Leading Trainer and Leading Jockey of the Season Award which is based on the total number of 2017 winners at the Curragh. There will also be two Special Achievement Awards, in association with Kildare Village and the Irish Daily Mail.